robrory1

Tiny internal cloakroom

robrory1
8 years ago
We are in the process of fitting out our tiny, internal en-suite cloakroom - I've no windows. I would like to use a very pale pink emulsion and wondered if Camomile by F and B would be a good colour. It will only have artificial light from a central 3 light fitting and an illuminated mirror, so hopefully it will be well lit. The fittings are to be white gloss and paintwork white egg-shell. I thought perhaps a white, rubber Lino for the floor. Would I have to use an undercoat because the walls at the moment are a darkish plum colour. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (16)

• Ruth Corbet
    8 years ago
    I'm not an expert by any means, but I have used a similiar hint of pink colour in two of my rooms. However, I use it next to strong cool colours to take the sting out of them; primary red in the sitting room and aqua green in the bathroom.

My thought is on its own it will be a bit insipid, against white paint work, floor and fittings. Although bright colours in towels etc might save it and it will be easy to paint over if you don't like. Good luck
  • PRO
    Pat Oliver Interior Design
    8 years ago

Why not use a wallpaper? Next has a lovely paper, http://www.next.co.uk/x579194s4#104927 , which looks like a grass paper or silk dupion. A paper like this one or one with an open pattern, http://4-id-shop.co.uk/shop/harlequin-anoushka-jolie-stripe-wallpaper/ would add interest to the small space without making the walls close in.

Also, a vinyl floor, perhaps with a stone effect would be less ultra modern than rubber.

Good luck.

• robrory1
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    Thanks so much for both suggestions. Perhaps I am playing it too safe! I couldn't have stripes though as there is not one straight wall in the tiny space!
  • PRO
    Amber Jeavons Ltd
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Hello robrory1,