kim_hu21

People in glass houses...energy efficiency anyone?

scoobyrenonewb
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Dear Houzz, I'm new to renovating so need some enlightenment. I love the look of glass and open space - but I can't get my head around having the cool or heat such a large area. So before I knock down some walls and replace them with glass would a room like this be hard to warm up in winter? How would you make it more energy efficient besides having double glazed glass?

Comments (13)

• scoobyrenonewb
    Original Author
    6 years ago
    We're in Sydney, room I'm considering faces South. Not sure if that's good /bad (?)
  • macyjean
    6 years ago

That's a really helpful link oklouise has directed you to. South is bad because it doesn't help with solar access in winter and it can be prone to condensation.

scoobyrenonewb thanked macyjean
  • oklouise
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

having lived in a northern beaches Sydney home with a south facing living room it was cold and dark on overcast days and during long cold spells although modern open plan living would probably exaggerate this effect but east and west windows and/or skylights that could all be screened or shaded might be enough to brighten up the spaces without overheating during long hot periods...post a plan of the existing spaces showing compass directions to invite more specific suggestions

scoobyrenonewb thanked oklouise
  • scoobyrenonewb
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Thank you so much for the input! That website is very informative :)

• oklouise
    6 years ago

check out Solar Skylights to add some extra day lighting to your downstairs south facing living areas...they look like round or flat ceiling lights that can significantly brighten any room but are actually solar powered lights connected to a small solar panel by a long fibre optic cable and can be DIY installed ...try Illume or Arcol brands

scoobyrenonewb thanked oklouise
  • PRO