sapphire131

Wood Putty or Wood Glue

SEA SEA
5 years ago

Woodworking novice here. I have a 161 year old wooden buffet that one of the door hinges/screw came out of the frame-the door is just hanging by the top hinge now.

I am thinking maybe I could put some wood putty in the screw holes, let it set a bit to firm up, then try to hand screw the screw back in and stabilize the door for a few days until dried. Or, maybe I could do same process, but with Gorilla glue for wood.

Anyone know if I am on the right track for getting the door hinge screw back in and functional again?

Thanks.

Comments (8)

• User
    5 years ago

Bset long term fix is to use a dab or three of regular wood glue)Gorilla glue foams and is not a good choice for filling voids like a screw hole) and driving as many wood toothpicks into the hole (usually three or four). Break them off flush with the surfsace and wait 24 hours. Then reinstall the screw(s).

SEA SEA thanked User
  • PRO
    Boen Signature Construction Services, LLC
    5 years ago

The old holes need to be stuffed with wood. You can add a little wood glue too. Fill holes and cut flush with face of the frame. Then you can re-install the screws. Toothpicks will work in a pinch but it would be best to find a wood of the same species an as needed apply a little matching wood stain and varnish if the holes are larger than the edge of the hinge.

SEA SEA thanked Boen Signature Construction Services, LLC
  • SEA SEA
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Thank you all for your ideas and suggestions. I really appreciate the time taken and thoughts shared.

I do value this buffet and would like to repair it properly so it can continue on like it has to date.

Any chance rewiregand is in the Nor Cal/Nor NV region?

• User
    5 years ago