ming_ng32

Help spicing up a small rental apartment and hiding ugly meter box

Meow
5 years ago
Hi everyone, first off, thanks for being such an inspiring community! I’m new to Houzz, and it’s so cool to see so many people passionate about creating spaces. It’s only now that i realise how important a clean, peaceful space is to wellbeing.

I just rented a new apartment, and being a complete noob, I’m not sure what i can do here. Basically, I want a very clean and minimalist look that I’ll feel good in.

Given certain constraints, I’m very stuck in terms of the colors I can use and options I have in terms of certain things that are already there.

Here are some details:
- i can paint it in any neutral color (thinking ice white)
- the brown door and brown bed is fixed, wondering how to make those work
- trying to negotiate to remove the TV and TV bracket, and get a new one or remove it altogether. If that fails, need to cover it up or use it as a hanger
- im thinking of getting a Philips hue, which will help at night to provide more lighting. But any ideas to help with lighting will be super appreciated.
- a curtain to separate the room from the kitchen area might work as well.

Any help and thoughts for a noob will be very much appreciated! I wish I could have gotten a more expensive and polished rental, but this is my budget right now, but excited to see how I can make it work :)

Comments (10)

• Chiquit Brammall
    5 years ago

Hey Meow, thanks for writing in with your design dilemma!

I rent too, and my favourite rental-friendly decorating weapon is 3M hooks and 3M strips – I use the strips to personalise my walls with photos and artwork, and the hooks to hang up fashion accessories like bags and necklaces as decor. Check out more tips in this story: https://www.houzz.com.sg/magazine/9-budget-friendly-ideas-to-personalise-your-rented-space-stsetivw-vs~66926992

• Meow
    Original Author
    5 years ago