webuser_995041851

Alabaster Walls with Pure White Celling & Trim?

Rene Montano
2 months ago

So first, let me start off by saying I am a total noob with this stuff and really have no idea what I am doing :/

We recently purchased a ranch-style home (first-time homeowner) and have settled on SW Alabaster as our wall color. Now comes the fun... I was thinking of going with Pure White as our ceiling color, but I have read some discouraging posts about it being too close to alabaster on the color wheel.

What are everyone’s thoughts on this color pairing? Also, should the trim, crown, and ceiling be the same color?

Please help!!

Comments (5)

• dani_m08
    2 months ago
    last modified: 2 months ago

The exterior of my house is SW Alabaster and the trim is SW Pure White. I researched white paints ad nauseum last year. I’ll look for photos I took when sampling several whites for the trim. My three sisters thought I was crazy - they couldn’t really see the difference between all of the whites 😂

I think a lot of people use the same white for ceiling and trim (including crown) - they look just a little different due to the sheen level and you don’t have to worry about pairing two whites that don’t work well next each other.

FYI - I am pretty sure that I selected my exterior colors + learned about the ceiling/trim from Kylie M Interiors.

• chloebud
    2 months ago

Not a pro but it seems Pure White could work for the trim. Alabaster’s chroma is .66 and Pure White is .44. Per Lori Sawaya here on Houzz, a chroma difference of at least .20 allows them to work together without one looking dingy/dirty.

• PRO
    Scotts Painting & Staining Inc
    2 months ago

Any white should work but I would recommend a plain white that is untinted or a ceiling paint such as Sherwin Williams Flat Ceiling White

If you are in the Omaha area feel free to give us a call.

Scott's Painting & Staining Inc

• skmom
    2 months ago